Program and Papers 2021

Program of the 1st Seminar Series on

The Political Economy of International Organization

Monday, 11am EST, January 25-March 29, 2021

Monday, January 25

Session 1: Agreements & Trade

11:00-11:35am EST (8:00am PST, 5:00pm CET, 12:00am Singapore (Tuesday), 3:00am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://villanova.zoom.us/my/peio2021

Chair: Soo Yeon Kim

11:35am-12:20pm EST (8:35am PST, 5:35pm CET, 12:35am Singapore (Tuesday), 3:35am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://www.wonder.me/r?id=7uq9sx-0ityy

Monday, February 1

Session 2: Effects of IMF Programs

11:00-11:35am EST (8:00am PST, 5:00pm CET, 12:00am Singapore (Tuesday), 3:00am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://villanova.zoom.us/my/peio2021

Chair: Mark Copelovitch

11:35am-12:20pm EST (8:35am PST, 5:35pm CET, 12:35am Singapore (Tuesday), 3:35am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://www.wonder.me/r?id=7uq9sx-0ityy

Monday, February 8

Session 3: IOs & Opinions

11:00-11:35am EST (8:00am PST, 5:00pm CET, 12:00am Singapore (Tuesday), 3:00am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://villanova.zoom.us/my/peio2021

Chair: B. Peter Rosendorff

11:35am-12:20pm EST (8:35am PST, 5:35pm CET, 12:35am Singapore (Tuesday), 3:35am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://www.wonder.me/r?id=7uq9sx-0ityy

Monday, February 15

Session 4: The Good & the Bad

11:00-11:35am EST (8:00am PST, 5:00pm CET, 12:00am Singapore (Tuesday), 3:00am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://villanova.zoom.us/my/peio2021

Chair: Christina Schneider

  • Paper: Cleo O’Brien-Udry (Yale University). Aid, Blame, and Backlash: The Political Economy of Unpopular Aid.
    Discussion openers: Cesi Cruz (University of British Columbia), Matthew Winters (University of Illinois)

11:35am-12:20pm EST (8:35am PST, 5:35pm CET, 12:35am Singapore (Tuesday), 3:35am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://www.wonder.me/r?id=7uq9sx-0ityy

  • Poster 1: Lauren Konken (Princeton University), Haillie Na-Kyung Lee (Seoul National University). What Can We Learn from Failed Economic Negotiations? Lessons from BITs and PTAs
    Discussants: Sonal Pandya (University of Virginia), Beth Simmons (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Poster 2: Michael Manulak (Carleton University). The Sources of Influence in Multilateral Diplomacy.
    Discussants: Miles Kahler (American University), Daniel Nexon (Georgetown University)
  • Poster 3: Yu Wang (University of Rochester). Leader Visits and UN Security Council Membership.
    Discussants: Dan Reiter (Emory University), Michael Tierney (William & Mary)

Monday, February 22

Session 5: Capacity & Compliance

11:00-11:35am EST (8:00am PST, 5:00pm CET, 12:00am Singapore (Tuesday), 3:00am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://villanova.zoom.us/my/peio2021

Chair: Christina Davis

  • Paper: Shannon Carcelli (University of Maryland, College Park). Reconsidering Bureaucratic Capacity and Treaty Compliance.
    Discussion openers: Ryan Briggs (University of Guelph),  Julia Gray (University of Pennsylvania)

11:35am-12:20pm EST (8:35am PST, 5:35pm CET, 12:35am Singapore (Tuesday), 3:35am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://www.wonder.me/r?id=7uq9sx-0ityy

  • Poster 1: Eun Young Kim (University of Texas at Austin). Counting What Counts: What Leads to Higher Statistical Capacity in Developing Countries? 
    Discussants: Dan Honig (Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies, SAIS), Morten Jerven (Norwegian University of Life Sciences)
  • Poster 2: Jean-Frédéric Morin (Université Laval), Clara Brandi (German Development Institute), Jakob Schwab (German Development Institute). Trade Effects of Environmental Agreements: Uncovering De Facto Environmental Clubs.
    Discussants: Mihai Paraschiv (State University of New York at Oswego), Quynh Nguyen (Australian National University)
  • Poster 3: Harry Oppenheimer (Harvard University). Developing Digital Capacity: How and Why Foreign Assistance Shapes Institutions.
    Discussants: Erik Gartzke (University of California, San Diego), Susan Hyde (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Poster 4: Vegard Tørstad (BI Norwegian Business School), Vegard Wiborg (University of Oslo). Mitigation Ambiguity and Prudence in Climate Pledges.
    Discussants: Kenneth Scheve (Yale University), Dustin Tingley (Harvard University)

Monday, March 1

Session 6: IOs in a Changing Landscape

11:00-11:35am EST (8:00am PST, 5:00pm CET, 12:00am Singapore (Tuesday), 3:00am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://villanova.zoom.us/my/peio2021

Chair: Simon Hug

  • Paper: Jing Qian (Princeton University), Zetao Wu (Fudan University and LSE), Jianzhi Zhao (Fudan University). Compete or Complement? How the World Bank Responds to the Establishment of the AIIB.
    Discussion openers: Austin Strange (University of Hong Kong), Alexandra Zeitz (Concordia University)

11:35am-12:20pm EST (8:35am PST, 5:35pm CET, 12:35am Singapore (Tuesday), 3:35am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://www.wonder.me/r?id=7uq9sx-0ityy

  • Poster 1: Antoine Boucher (Université Paris Dauphine), Lisa Chauvet (Université Paris 1), Marin Ferry (Université Gustave Eiffel). Political Cycle in World Bank’s Procurement Allocation.
    Discussants: Erasmus Kersting (Villanova University), Elena McLean (University at Buffalo, SUNY)
  • Poster 2: Michael Denly (University of Texas at Austin). Institutional Autonomy and Donor Strategic Interest in Multilateral Foreign Aid: Rules vs. Informal Influence.
    Discussants: Christopher Kilby (Villanova University), Randall Stone (University of Rochester)
  • Poster 3: Tim Heinkelmann-Wild (LMU Munich). After Exit: Explaining Institutional Resilience and Decay after Hegemonic Withdrawal.
    Discussants: Karolina Milewicz (University of Oxford), Duncan Snidal (University of Oxford)
  • Poster 4: Andrew McWard (University of Wisconsin-Madison). Formalizing Informality: How States Control Intergovernmental Organizations through NGO Participation.
    Discussants: Kenneth Abbott (Arizona State University), Phillip Lipscy (University of Toronto)

Monday, March 8

Session 7: Aid

11:00-11:35am EST (8:00am PST, 5:00pm CET, 12:00am Singapore (Tuesday), 3:00am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://villanova.zoom.us/my/peio2021

Chair: Daniel Nielson

  • Paper: Andreas Fuchs (University of Goettingen), Samuel Siewers (University of Goettingen). The Timing of Emergency Aid.
    Discussion openers: Kurt Annen (University of Guelph), Paul Raschky (Monash University)

11:35am-12:20pm EST (8:35am PST, 5:35pm CET, 12:35am Singapore (Tuesday), 3:35am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://www.wonder.me/r?id=7uq9sx-0ityy

  • Poster 1: Leonardo Baccini (McGill University), Mirko Heinzel (University of Potsdam), Mathias Koenig-Archibugi (LSE). The Social Construction of Global Health Priorities: An Empirical Analysis of Contagion in Bilateral Health Aid.
    Discussants: Thomas Stubbs (Royal Holloway), Eric Werker (Simon Fraser University)
  • Poster 2: Alice Iannantuoni (University of Geneva). Strategic Motivations and Volatility in Aid Allocation by the Council of the European Union.
    Discussants: Nikolay Marinov (University of Houston), Catherine Weaver (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Poster 3: Johannes Karreth (Ursinus College), Timothy Passmore (Virginia Military Institute), Jaroslav Tir (University of Colorado Boulder). Foreign Aid and the Steps to Peacekeeping Operations.
    Discussants: Lise Howard (Georgetown University), Lisa Hultman (Uppsala University)
  • Poster 4: Abrams Mbu Enow Tagem (UNU-WIDER). The Economics and Politics of Foreign Aid and Domestic Revenue Mobilization.
    Discussants: Roel Dom (World Bank), Lionel Roger (Zimbabwe Ministry of Finance and Economic Development)
DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME (DST) starts for U.S. (Sunday, March 14)

Monday, March 15

Session 8: Populism, Democracy, & IOs

11:00-11:35am EDT (8:00am PDT, 4:00pm CET, 11:00pm Singapore, 2:00am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://villanova.zoom.us/my/peio2021

Chair: Renee Bowen

  • Paper: Allison Carnegie (Columbia University), Richard Clark (Columbia University), Noah Zucker (Columbia University). Global Governance under Populism: The Challenge of Information Suppression.
    Discussion openers: Christina Davis (Harvard University), Jon Pevehouse (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

11:35am-12:20pm EDT (8:35am PDT, 4:35pm CET, 11:35pm Singapore, 2:35am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://www.wonder.me/r?id=7uq9sx-0ityy

  • Poster 1: Katherine Beall (University of California, Berkeley). Trading Sovereignty for Self-Determination: Human Rights, Institutional Power, and Regional Organizations.
    Discussants: Emilie Hafner-Burton (University of California, San Diego), David Lake (University of California, San Diego)
  • Poster 2: Minju Kim (University of Chicago). Who Wants to Work at a Transparent International Organization?
    Discussants: Tana Johnson (University of Wisconsin-Madison), David Stasavage (New York University)
  • Poster 3: Anna Meyerrose (Ohio State University). Building Strong Executives and Weak Institutions: How European Integration Contributes to Democratic Backsliding.
    Discussants: R. Daniel Kelemen (Rutgers University), Ellen Lust (University of Gothenburg)
  • Poster 4: Hayley Pring (University of Oxford). Does Populism Affect Trade?
    Discussants: Manfred Elsig (World Trade Institute), Jessica Weeks (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

Monday, March 22

Session 9: Law, Agreements & Propaganda

11:00-11:35am EDT (8:00am PDT, 4:00pm CET, 11:00pm Singapore, 2:00am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://villanova.zoom.us/my/peio2021

Chair: Thomas Bernauer

  • Paper: Justin Canfil (Columbia University). Yesterday’s Reach: How International Law Keeps Pace with Technological Change.
    Discussion openers: Karen J. Alter (Northwestern University), Christopher Fariss (University of Michigan)

11:35am-12:20pm EDT (8:35am PDT, 4:35pm CET, 11:35pm Singapore, 2:35am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://www.wonder.me/r?id=7uq9sx-0ityy

  • Poster 1: David Bearce (University of Colorado), Max Chernoff (University of Colorado), Cody Eldredge (Oakland University). A Deepening/Widening Tradeoff? Evidence from the GATT and WTO.
    Discussants: Judith Goldstein (Stanford University), Mike Tomz (Stanford University)
  • Poster 2: Kai Gehring (University of Zurich), Travers Child (CEIBS), Sarah Langlotz (University of Goettingen), Austin Wright (University of Chicago). Global and Local Propaganda of an International Terrorist Organization: How Islamic State Influences Public Perceptions in Afghanistan.
    Discussants: Ruben Durante (Universitat Pompeu Fabra), Tamar Mitts (Columbia University)
  • Poster 3: Julia Gray (University of Pennsylvania), Rachel Hulvey (University of Pennsylvania). Contracting with IOs: Explaining the Conditions for Immunity Agreements.
    Discussants: Kristina Daugirdas (University of Michigan), Taylor St John (University of St Andrews)
  • Poster 4: Carolina Moehlecke (Fundação Getulio Vargas). Global Regulatory Agreements and Corporations: Does Innovation Facilitate Cooperation?
    Discussants: Liliana Andonova (Graduate Institute Geneva), Rebecca Perlman (Princeton University)
DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME (DST) starts for CET (Sunday, March 28)

Monday, March 29

Session 10: Gaining & Losing

11:00-11:35am EDT (8:00am PDT, 5:00pm CET, 11:00pm Singapore, 2:00am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://villanova.zoom.us/my/peio2021

Chair: Jennifer Tobin

  • Paper: Andrea Presbitero (IMF), Valentin Lang (University of Mannheim), David Mihalyi (Natural Resource Governance Institute). Borrowing Costs after Debt Relief.
    Discussion openers: Pierre-Olivier Gourinchas (University of California, Berkeley), Christoph Trebesch (Kiel Institute for the World Economy)

11:35am-12:20pm EDT (8:35am PDT, 5:35pm CET, 11:35pm Singapore, 2:35am Melbourne (Tuesday), get calendar entry)

Location: https://www.wonder.me/r?id=7uq9sx-0ityy

  • Poster 1: Jason Davis (University of Pennsylvania). Firms, Dynamics, and Stumbling Blocks in Trade.
    Discussants: Leonardo Baccini (McGill University), Amy Pond (Technical University of Munich)
  • Poster 2: Leopoldo Avellán (Inter-American Development Bank), Arturo Galindo (Banco de la República), Giulia Lotti (Inter-American Development Bank). Sovereign External Borrowing and Multilateral Lending in Crises.
    Discussants: Chris Humphrey (ETH Zurich, Center for Development and Cooperation), Paul J. Nelson (University of Pittsburgh)
  • Poster 3: Sara Norrevik (University at Buffalo). Foreign Economic Policy in the European Parliament. The Influence of Foreign Direct Investment.
    Discussants: Catherine de Vries (Bocconi University), Amie Kreppel (University of Florida)
  • Poster 4: Mitali Pradhan (Fordham University). Impact of Losing Preferential Status: Evidence from the EU’s Generalized System of Preferences Reform
    Discussants: Ana Fernandes (World Bank), Shushanik Hakobyan (IMF)